100 songs for the 2010s: Cardi B’s ‘Bodak Yellow’ #15


Hello!

To finish off day 5, at #15 we have – Cardi B’s ‘Bodak Yellow’. Another song kinda overshadowed by the social media antics of the artist behind it. And it’s a shame because even for a person that is not particularly into Cardi B’s type of rap, I could see myself bopping to this song in a club or smth (I mean if I ever set my foot in one). It sounds confident and is catchy.

While Cardi B’s explicit and outrageous statements were what brought a lot of people to her, their less than politically correct statements are also what is making her bleed fans. While preaching female empowerment, she also seems to have a lack of solidarity with other women. Her female empowerment also seems to come at the cost of diminishing the opposite gender and I’m really not about that at all.

Cardi_B_-_Bodak_Yellow.png

Published by Lou

Anti-social nerd, cinephile, and bookworm that is probably currently bopping along to some song or another and is also 75% radioactive fish, because she has spent half of her life in a chlorine-filled pool.

Leave a comment